New Hampshire Prescribed Fire Council Members

fire crew

The Council is comprised of various agencies and organizations who have an interest in using prescribed fire to help further their missions.

Current members include:

NH Army National Guard                   

NH Department of Environmental Services    

NH Division of Forests and Lands      

NH Fire Academy                                

NH Fish and Game Department        

NH Local Fire Department                  

North Country Council                        

The Society for the Protection of New Hampshire Forests     

The Nature Conservancy                     

University of New Hampshire             

University of New Hampshire Cooperative Extension           

US Air Force                                        

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service            

U.S. Forest Service White Mountain National Forest           

Chair: Wendy Weisiger, Society for the Protection of New Hampshire Forests
Vice-chair: John Neely, U.S. Forest Service White Mountain National Forest

Officers serve one year terms. The Vice-chair is automatically promoted to Chair for one term. The Chair coordinates the activities of the council including meetings and agendas and ensures any projects are moving forward in a timely manner. The Vice-chair serves as secretary of the council, taking meeting notes at every council meeting. The Vice-chair also updates the council's event calendar and assists the Chair, when needed, with coordinating meetings, agendas and projects.