Resources for Farmers Markets Best Management Practices During a Pandemic and Beyond

radishes

This is a compilation of online resources shared during the Farmers Market webinar held on Monday, May 18, 2020. Additional resources have been added to the list. Some of the links have a multitude of topics covering more than one subject, while others are topic specific.

If you have used other resources that were helpful to your agriculture enterprise, email to: Nada Haddad, Agricultural Business Management Field Specialist, UNH Cooperative Extension, nada.haddad@unh.edu, 603-679-5616.

Best Practices and General Guidelines

  1. Best Management Practices for Farmers Markets: Thinking through Operations during a Pandemic and Beyond Webinar Recording - https://extension.unh.edu/resource/webinar-recording-best-management-practices-farmers-markets-thinking-through-operations
  2. COVID-19 Precautions from Field to Market - https://extension.unh.edu/blog/covid-19-precautions-field-market

Food Safety

  1. Cleaning, Sanitizing, and Disinfecting of Surfaces Part 1: The Differences Between Cleaning, Sanitizing and Disinfecting - https://extension.unh.edu/blog/cleaning-sanitizing-and-disinfecting-surfaces-part-one
  2. Cleaning, Sanitizing, and Disinfecting of Surfaces Part 2: Using These Chemicals On the Right Surfaces at the Right Time - https://extension.unh.edu/blog/cleaning-sanitizing-and-disinfecting-surfaces-part-two
  3. Best Precautionary Practices for Selling Frozen Meat at The Farmers Market - https://extension.unh.edu/blog/best-precautionary-practices-selling-frozen-meat-farmers-market
  4. New Hampshire Self-Inspecting Cities & Towns - https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dphs/fp/documents/selfinspect.pdf

Signage

  1. COVID-19 Agriculture Resource from the New Hampshire Department of Agriculture, Markets & Food -https://www.agriculture.nh.gov/publications-forms/documents/farmers-market-signs.pdf
  2. Visual Aids to Promote COVID-19 Safety at Your Farmers Market: Farm 2 Facts from the University of Wisconsin Madison Extension - https://farm2facts.org/visual-aids-to-promote-covid-19-safety-at-your-farmers-market/
  3. Free Downloadable Social Distancing Posters Available In Different Languages From The Acheson Group, A Food Safety Consulting Business - https://extension.unh.edu/resource/faqs-about-covid-19-and-nh-agriculture-updated-daily#ag

COVID-19 Protecting Yourself and Others

  1. How to Protect Yourself and Others - https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/prevent-getting-sick/prevention.html
  2. Use of Respirators, Facemasks, and Cloth Face Coverings in the Food and Agriculture Sector During COVID-19 - https://www.fda.gov/food/food-safety-during-emergencies/use-respirators-facemasks-and-cloth-face-coverings-food-and-agriculture-sector-during-coronavirus
  3. Recommendation Regarding the Use of Cloth Face Coverings, Especially in Areas of Significant Community-Based Transmission - https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/prevent-getting-sick/cloth-face-cover.html

General Best Practices

  1. Farmers Market Coalition Resources - https://farmersmarketcoalition.org/
  2. FAQs About COVID-19 and N.H. Agriculture (updated twice a week) - https://extension.unh.edu/resource/faqs-about-covid-19-and-nh-agriculture-updated-daily

Online Marketing

  1. Adapting Your Farm Business Plans in Uncertain Times - https://extension.unh.edu/blog/adapting-your-farm-business-plans-uncertain-times
  2. Getting Started with Online Farm Sales During Times of Social Distancing - https://njaes.rutgers.edu/fs1319/
  3. Farmers Guide to Direct Sales Software Platform - https://www.youngfarmers.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/04/Farmers-Guide-to-Direct-Sales-Software-Platforms.pdf
  4. Ecommerce Payment Methods - https://extension.psu.edu/e-commerce-payment-methods

Reaching Customers

  1. Reaching Your Customers in Times of Social Distancing Webinar Recording - https://extension.unh.edu/resource/reaching-your-customers-times-social-distancing-webinar-video
  2. Best Practices for Pick-Your-Own Operations to Protect Customers and Staff from COVID-19 Webinar Recording - https://extension.unh.edu/events/best-practices-pick-your-own-operations-protect-customers-and-staff-covid-19
  3. Guide for CSA Farmers Amid COVID-19 - https://extension.unh.edu/blog/guide-csa-farmers-amid-covid-19
  4. Adding SNAP/EBT Sales to Your Farm Webinar Recording - https://extension.unh.edu/resource/adding-snapebt-sales-your-farm-webinar-video
  5. Tips for Plant Growers to Minimize COVID-19 Impact - https://extension.unh.edu/resource/tips-plant-growers-minimize-covid-19-impact
  6. How Is Your Garden Center Going To Do Business This Spring? - https://extension.unh.edu/resource/how-your-garden-center-going-do-business-spring-tip-sheet

Promote Your New Hampshire Farm and Horticulture Business

  1. NH Farmers Market Directory - https://www.agriculture.nh.gov/publications-forms/documents/farmers-market-directory.pdf
  2. Farmers Market Registration Form - https://www.agriculture.nh.gov/publications-forms/documents/farmers-market-registration.pdf
  3. New Hampshire Farm Products Map - https://extension.unh.edu/resource/new-hampshire-farm-products-map

NH Governor Emergency Orders

  1. NH Governor Sununu Emergency Order #17 - https://www.governor.nh.gov/sites/g/files/ehbemt336/files/documents/emergency-order-17.pdf
  2. EXHIBIT A To Emergency Order #17 That Provides Essential Services and Support During COVID-19 -https://www.governor.nh.gov/sites/g/files/ehbemt336/files/documents/emergency-order-17-ex-a.pdf
  3. State of New Hampshire COVID-19 Business Resources - https://businesshelp.nheconomy.com/hc/en-us

Websites